Ministry of Study

I finally took the plunge! I’m throwing in another voice to the blogosphere.

In 2010, I started my graduate education at Harding School of Theology. I drove on to campus armed with a Bible degree and was ready to conquer. Needless to say, I was humbled quickly. Everyone who has been through a program at HST knows the three most dreaded words on campus, “Advanced-Theological-Research.” This is a class that all incoming students have to take that teaches you how to research and write on a graduate level. It is not for the faint of heart. It was in that class that I was introduced to the tools and resources for gaining knowledge and thinking deeply about the things of God. During that class, we were instructed to read an article by Dr. Jack P. Lewis entitled “The Ministry of Study.” In that article Dr. Lewis said, “I would like to challenge you to think of your study as a ministry rendered in service to God.” I had never thought of study as a ministry before. That concept has changed my attitude toward life and ministry.

Dr. Lewis’ legacy is undeniable. He received his Bachelor’s degree from Abilene Christian University and Sam Houston State University. He went on to receive his PhD in New Testament from Harvard University and a PhD in Old Testament from Hebrew Union College. He was the Thayer Fellow at the Albright Institute of Archaeological Research in Jerusalem from 1967-68 and a Senior Fellow there in 1983-84. He taught Bible courses at Harding University and Harding School of Theology for nearly fifty years. As I write this, Dr. Lewis recently celebrated his 95th birthday. He is still publishing books and lecturing when he is able. He has served as an elder at the White Station Church of Christ in Memphis for a number of years. You can check his latest book entitled Early Explorers of the Bible Lands here. You can also find his autobiography As I Remember It here.

Certainly no one exemplifies the ministry of study more than Dr. Lewis. He made it his life’s mission to bridge theology and ministry. He didn’t spend his life in the ivory tower. He brought the ivory tower to the church. It is my prayer that this blog will carry on that same legacy: connecting the church and scholarship. I love truth and am committed to following it wherever it might lead. My goal will be to share things that I have been blessed to learn in hopes that you will be blessed as well. Ultimately, may God receive all the glory for whatever good may come through this blog.

2 comments

  1. I appreciate what you’re doing here! I’m interested to see where you will take this. I’ll definitely check it out again!

Leave a Reply

