The Next Phase of Our Lives

To Our Oliver Creek Church Family,

We have known this day might come and we have dreaded it for nearly five years. As most of you know, Robin and I moved to Memphis in 2010 so that I could pursue my master’s degree at the Harding School of Theology. When I began that degree, I knew that God was calling me to pursue a ministry of teaching in order to most effectively use my gifts in service to the kingdom. Last week, I received word that I have been accepted to the PhD program at Asbury Theological Seminary in Lexington, KY and Robin and I have made the decision to move to Kentucky for me to pursue that degree. God has blessed us along our journey of faith and we know that He will continue blessing us during this transition. We are excited that God has opened up this door of opportunity.

At the same time, Robin and I are completely devastated to leave this church. The last five years have been the best of our lives. It has been easy to live away from our biological families because this church became and is our family. You all have touched our lives in indescribable ways. We have made so many memories over the past five years that we will carry with us for the rest of our lives. We hope you understand how much we love you and how difficult this decision is for us. Right now, our future without Oliver Creek is inconceivable and so we are hurting. We ask for your prayers during this very difficult time in our lives as we make this transition. If all goes according to plan, we will be here until the end of May and then we will move to Lexington.

The team of shepherds here is the most amazing group of spiritual leaders I have ever known. During the last five years, they have been patient with me when I had wild ideas in the elders’ meetings, made them come up and sing the Sea of Galilee song on stage during VBS, and when my sermons went just a tad bit long. They have truly and honestly loved, supported, guided, and cared for me in ways that I cannot begin to thank them for. I have so much love in my heart for George and Rita, Luke and Ashton, and Chris and Monica. I am leaving Oliver Creek with a more mature faith than when I arrived. I attribute much of my spiritual transformation to the support and constant encouragement I have received from the amazing team of ministers at this church. I would not be who I am today without the shepherds and ministers. This church has loved us from the moment we arrived and we love this church more than you will ever know, and that will never change. You have helped us become the people of God that we are today. We will be praying for the future of Oliver Creek and we ask that you be praying for us as well. If there is one thing I have learned over the past five years, it is that God is blessing Oliver Creek mightily. I am confident in the shepherds and ministers of this church to lead you into the next phase of God’s plans. “May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.”

With Love,

Garrett and Robin Best

One comment

  1. This is my first time to ever ‘post’ a comment. Hope I’m pressing the right buttons. Working with Garrett has been a hoot. His enthusiasm, passion for God’s Word, and love for people are second to none. I’ve watched him grow and mature the past five years, and I believe God is only getting started with him. Love you G. Chris Dempsey

Leave a Reply

